Project

General

Profile

Bug #151

Deleting and Readding a Network in the same step leads to unpleasent side effects

Added by EgS almost 12 years ago. Updated about 11 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
High
Assignee:
Category:
General / Unspecified
Target version:
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Version:
0.13.0
OS:
Any

Description

the sync to core dialog hangs and strange side effects may happen... basically it crashed the client after I tried to readd the net again

Steps to reproduce:

- Delete a network
- Add a network with the same name
- Click Apply

History

#1 Updated by Sputnick over 11 years ago

This is actually caused by a problem in SqliteStorage. createNetwork() will not create a new network if a net with the same already exists, at least as far as I can see, this is the only place where NetworkName actually has any significance (the insert_network query doesn't seem to check for different network IDs).

Workarounded this problem in the NetworksSettingsPage by reordering operations such that removals will be done before nets are created; still I think this problem needs to be fixed in storage as well.

Reassigning this to EgS, who is our storage wizard :)

#2 Updated by EgS over 11 years ago

I think this would be faulty design.

Calling createWhatever(name, parameters) this should never delete and create something new with the same name. The only proper way is to issue a delete to the storage backend and then call a create.

Also available in: Atom PDF